Oct 29, 2020  
2011-2012 Catalog 
    
2011-2012 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar



Important Dates 2011-2012

Updates and revisions are posted as necessary.

Fall 2011

May 16, Mon. Web registration begins for all currently enrolled students continuing for Fall 2011 classes.
May 23, Mon. Web registration begins for all transfer, transient, readmits and all others not previously registered for Fall 2011 classes.
New student Web registration begins for Fall 2011 classes.
June 15, Wed. New and returning dual enrollment and early admission student registration begins for Fall 2011 classes.
August 8, Mon. Summer 2011 grades posted to student transcripts.
August 15, Mon. Last day new student applications (including readmission applications) will be accepted for Fall 2011 term classes that begin August 22-27.
August 18, Thu. Faculty return.
Last day of new student orientations for Fall 2011 classes starting August 22-27.
August 22, Mon. Fall 2011 classes begin.
August 26, Fri. Last day for students to change degree/program major for the Fall 2011 term. All changes after this date will be effective for the Spring 2012 term.
August 27, Sat. Last day for students to add/drop classes online until 11:59 p.m. that began August 22-27 with a refund.
No refunds after August 27.
September 5, Mon. Labor Day holiday. College closed.
September 9, Fri. Last day to submit an application for Fall 2011 graduation.
September 16, Fri. Student Services Professional Development Day. All student services offices will be closed for the day.
September 26, Mon. An “I” grade not previously completed will be changed to an “F” on the student’s permanent record.
October 7, Fri. Faculty/Staff Development Day. No day classes or academic support labs. Classes scheduled 4 p.m. and later will meet as usual.
October 28, Fri. Last day to withdraw without academic penalty (no refund) for Fall 2011 classes that started during the first week of term (August 22-27).
November 10, Thu. Deadline to submit the graduation attendance form online to guarantee participation in December 16, 2011 Winter Commencement ceremonies.
November 11, Fri. Veterans Day holiday observed. College closed.
November 24-27 Thanksgiving holidays. College closed.
December 9, Fri. Fall 2011 classes end.
December 12-15 Final examinations for Fall 2011 classes.
December 16, Fri. Final grades due at 2 p.m. for all Fall 2011 classes.
Winter Commencements, 5 and 7:30 pm, Neel Performing Arts Center, SCF Bradenton.
December 17, 2011 - January 1, 2012 Winter holiday break. College closed.
December 19, Mon. Fall 2011 grades posted to student transcripts.

Spring 2012

October 24, Mon. Web registration begins for all currently enrolled students continuing for Spring 2012 classes.
October 31, Mon. Web registration begins for all transfer, transient, readmits and all others not previously registered for Spring 2012 classes.
New student Web registration begins for Spring 2012 classes through new student orientations (by appointment only).
November 14, Mon. New and returning dual enrollment and early admission student registration begins for Spring 2012 classes.
November 24-27 Thanksgiving holidays. College closed.
December 17, 2011- January 1, 2012 Winter holiday break. College closed.
December 19, Mon. Fall 2011 grades posted to student transcripts.
January 2, Mon. College offices open at 8 a.m.
Last day new student applications (including readmission applications) will be accepted for Spring 2012 term for classes that begin January 9-14.
January 5, Thu. Last day of new student orientations for Spring 2012 classes starting January 9-14.
January 6, Fri. Faculty return.
January 9, Mon. Spring 2012 classes begin.
January 13, Fri. Last day for students to change degree/program major for the Spring 2012 term. All changes after this date will be effective for the Summer 2012 term.
January 14, Sat. Last day for students to add/drop classes online until 11:59 p.m. that began January 9-14 with a refund.
No refunds after January 14.
January 16, Mon. Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday. College closed.
January 27, Fri. Last day to submit an application for Spring 2012 graduation.
February 3, Fri. Student Services Professional Development Day. All student services offices will be closed for the day.
February 10, Fri. Faculty/Staff Development Day. No day classes or academic support labs. Classes scheduled 4 p.m. and later will meet as usual.
An “I” grade not previously completed will be changed to an “F” on the student’s permanent record.
March 12-18 Spring Break. College closed.
March 22, Thu. Last day to withdraw without academic penalty (no refund) for Spring 2012 classes that started the first week of the term (January 9-14).
April 6, Fri. Deadline to submit the graduation attendance form online to guarantee participation in May 5, 2012 Spring Commencement ceremonies.
April 27, Fri. Spring 2012 classes end.
Honors Convocation, 12:30 p.m. SCF Venice, 7 p.m. Neel Performing Arts Center, SCF Bradenton.
April 30-May 3 Final examinations for Spring 2012 classes.
May 4, Fri. Final grades due at 2 p.m. for all Spring 2012 classes.
May 5, Sat. Spring Commencements, 10:30 a.m. and 1 p.m., Neel Performing Arts Center, SCF Bradenton.
May 7, Mon. Spring 2012 grades posted to student transcripts.

Summer 2012

March 26, Mon. Web registration begins for all currently enrolled students continuing for Summer 2012 classes.
April 2, Mon. New student Web registration begins for all summer terms through new student orientations (by appointment only).
Web registration begins for all transfer, transient, readmits and all others not previously registered for Summer 2012 classes.
April 16, Mon. New and returning dual enrollment and early admission student registration begins for Summer 2012 classes.
May 7, Mon. Spring 2012 grades posted to academic transcripts.
May 9, Wed. Last day new student applications (including readmission applications) will be accepted for Summer A and Summer C terms.
May 11, Fri. Last day of new student orientations for Summer A and Summer C terms.
May 14, Mon. Faculty Return.
Summer 2012 classes begin for Summer A and Summer C term courses.
May 17, Thu. Last day for students to change degree/program major for the Summer 2012 term. All changes after this date will be effective for the Fall 2012 term.
May 18, Fri. Last day for students to add/drop online until 11:59 p.m. Summer A and Summer C classes that began May 14-18 with a refund. No refunds after May 18.
May 28, Mon. Memorial Day holiday. College closed.
June 1, Fri. Last day to submit an application for Summer 2012 graduation.
June 9, Sat. Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for Summer A classes (May 14 – June 25).
June 20, Wed. Summer 2012 A classes end.
June 21, Thu. Exams (Summer A).
Last day new student applications (including readmission applications) will be accepted for Summer B term.
June 25, Mon. Exams (Summer A).
Last day new student orientations for Summer B term.
June 26, Tue. Final grades due at noon for Summer A classes and all other courses ending by June 25.
Summer 2012 classes begin (Summer B).
June 29, Fri. Last day for students to add/drop online until 11:59 p.m. Summer B classes that began June 26-29 with a refund. No refunds after June 29.
July 2, Mon. Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for Summer C term classes (May 14 – August 2).
July 4, Wed. Independence Day holiday. College closed.
July 23, Mon. Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for Summer B classes (June 26 – August 7).
July 31, Tue Summer 2012 C classes end.
August 1, Wed. Exams (Summer C term)
August 2, Thu. Exams (Summer C term)
Summer 2012 B classes end.
August 6, Mon. Exams (Summer B)
August 7, Tue. Exams (Summer B)
August 9, Thu. Final grades due at 2 p.m. for Summer B and C classes and all other courses ending by August 7.
August 13, Mon. Summer grades posted to student transcripts.